A little over 4 years ago I opened a “Learn To Knit” book and cast on my first stitches.  At that time, I had no idea that this new craft would become a unstopable obsession of all things fiber related.   When we arrived in Austin about 3 years ago, I discovered that there was a knitting store just minutes from my house.  My husband swears that I planned this, I call it fate.  The Knitting Nest has been my yarn home ever since and starting in August you can find me teaching classes there too!  Yipee!! 

There are so many exciting things happening at The Knitting Nest right now.  Stacy, the owner, has just hired 7 new teachers (one being me!). From pattern design to amigurumi, we bring a wide array of techniques and experience to the table.   This past Sunday was our first staff meeting and there were so many wonderful ideas being tossed around.  I left that meeting feeling so motivated to create. 

My first class is all about Elijah!  Not only is he adorable, but he is incredibly soft.  As I have mentioned before, Ysolda Teague’s patterns are wonderfully, well written.  Elijah is knit all in one piece, so there is no seaming and no crazy ends to weave in.  Now, that is MY kind of pattern.  The pattern is worked starting with head, using a DPN circular cast on.  While this technique can be a bit tricky, I have discovered a way to ease the complexity of this.   Something I hope to teach in my class!  The yarn is Lorna’s Laces, Shepherd Worsted in the Ysolda colorway.  I seriously want to snuggle with this yarn all day.  The subtle color changes (think red, pink and even a little orange) are amazing.  Lorna’s Laces truly outdid themselves with this colorway.  The Knitting Nest now carries Lorna’s Laces in worsted and sport weight!!  Yay!!

Elijah can be the perfect gift for a baby, child or adult.  Ysolda designed the elephant so that he is “round and cuddly but still easy for little hands to grasp.”  The pattern requires minimal yarn, so this can also be considered a stash buster project. 

Elijah the Elephant, the class, is being held on Saturday, August 28th from 2-4pm at The Knitting Nest.  I hope to see you all there!! 

