I have been sewing like a mad woman lately and my son seems to be very interested in what I am creating.  Yesterday he asked me if I would make his blanket.  The fabric has been stashed for a couple of months now and it’s about time I put it all together.  I made a fun afternoon activity out of it by having him help me lay all of the squares out.  The rules were simple – no two of the same square can touch. 

While we were laying out the squares, Hunter reminded me every single time (literally) I placed a new square that “no two of the same can touch Mommy”.  He did a really great job.  In fact, he placed most of the squares. 

When we were all finished, he wanted to “test” out his new blanket: 

Now, I just have to piece it all together…

Outer Space Quilt specs:

Since this is my very first quilt, I am making it super simple.  Each square is 8 inches by 8 inches.  The quilt is 8 squares wide and 12 squares tall.  According to my calculations, this should fit Hunter’s twin bed perfectly.

