Last year, I stumbled upon some amazing fabric designed by Heather Ross.  From sea turtles to mermaids, the ocean inspired fabric is 100% cotton and super soft.  Since the fabric line is now discontinued, it can be pretty hard to come by.  Luckily I scored some a little while back.  It’s been sitting on my shelf for some time now and about a week ago, I finally decided on a project.  A tote bag!

The outer part of the bag is quilted, as well as the outer pocket.  These quilted pieces give the tote extra sturdiness, which I find is a requirement in a good tote bag.  I really wanted to feature the mermaids as they are my favorite part of the entire bag.  While the handles are not quilted, they do have a layer of batting for some extra support.

The lining (and handles too) is this super cute sea horse pattern.  I really cannot get enough of this fabric line!

This project was a lot of fun!  I think I am officially hooked on sewing.  Compared to knitting, sewing is light years faster.  Almost like instant gratification.  I was chatting with my Mom the other day and I confessed that I may have a new addiction to fabric.  She commented that I just have an addiction to textiles in general. Needless to say, I have many more bags lined up to make.  Can one really have too many bags?

