Project Specs

Pattern:   Milo by Georgie Hallam

Pattern source:  Ravelry

Finished Size: 3 months

Supplies: Berroco Vintage in colors Berries and Gingham, Size 5 Needles (16″ circular) and darning needle.

Date started: 4/5/10

Date completed: 4/10/10

MY RAVELRY LINK:  Baby MJ’s Milo Vest

It wasn’t until I posted this project on Ravelry that I realized that both projects for my friend’s soon to be born baby had the name ‘Milo’ in the title.  Hmmm, I wonder if that is a sign she is having a boy? 

After making the soakers, I discovered that I had plenty of yarn left over to make something else.  A while back I discovered the Milo vest pattern and just loved the simplicity of the construction.  Knit all in one piece, from the top down.  Now, that is my kind of pattern!  In order to spice it up, I thought I would do some sort of fair isle design for the body.  I got the fair isle design from the ‘Archie Vest‘ pattern in the book Vintage Baby Knits by Kristen Rengren.  LOVE that book by the way…  For the second pattern repeat, I just switched the colors (I was also running out of red yarn which is the main reason why I did this!).  I am very pleased with how this came out.  The best part though – this vest can be washed and dried.  Which, is key for baby projects.

As a first time Berroco Vintage user, I must say that I really enjoyed working with this yarn.  It’s super soft and machine washable.  I am interested to see how the color holds up.  This is such an economical yarn ($6 for 200 yards) and I definitely plan on using it again. 

