As soon as my craft room was set up, I felt this compulsion to make something.  For the last couple of weeks I have been drooling over quilts, fabrics and sewing books.  I checked out the book ‘Weekend Sewing‘ by Heather Ross (one of my FAV fabric designers!!) from my local library and knew right away I needed to make the ‘Flower Girl Dress’ for my rediculously adorable niece. 

Once the fabric was cut, the entire dress took about an hour to put together.  The intructions in the book were very clear (even for a very, very beginner sewer!).  This is actually the first garmet I have ever made and I couldn’t be more proud of myself!!   This project was SO satisfying and has only fueled me to sew more. 

See that in the photo above?  Look a little closer…  It’s an almost straight line!  Practice makes perfect right?  Something tells me this will not be last last dress I make!  In fact, I have a gazillion ideas stewing in my head now.  I never really thought I could have room for another craft in my life.  Especially one that is not yarn related.  Turns out, I totally do. 

Now I just have to patiently wait til sometime in June when my niece passes through Austin with her family.  I hope she is just as excited to wear this dress as I am to give it to her! 

 

 

