Both good and tragic, last week was stressful to say the least.   So much so that on Friday I fell asleep at 7:30pm and woke up on Saturday morning at 6:30am.  Yep, I slept for 11 hours straight.  Turns out, I don’t handle stress all that great.  My body needed to rest and rest is what I received.

So what happened you ask?  Let’s start with the bad.  On Tuesday, I found out that a co-worker passed away.  While he wasn’t a close friend, I still saw and spoke to him almost every single day.   With everything else going on (more on that later) I didn’t really process his passing until Friday.  I guess my way of coping with death is trying to do everything possible to help out the people who were closest to him.  On Friday afternoon, I simply broke down.  Especially after I read that he was an only child and that he was ONLY 33 years old.  I feel so bad for his parents.  Mike was their baby boy.  He was so young and had so much left of his life to live.  I can’t help but to wonder if Mike was doing what he loved or if he wanted more.  It doesn’t really matter because in an instance that was all taken from him.  I  have been told that his parents are deeply religious and they truly believe he is in a better place now.  There is some comfort in that I guess.

OK, now for the great news.  I am officially a University of Texas at Austin employee!!  Last week I accepted an administrative position and will begin my new job on January 4th.  While I am sad to leave my current position, this new position brings wonderful opportunities.   I could tell from the first interview that I would be a great fit to their department.  I felt like I could easily get along with everyone and that well, I belonged there.  Oh and did I mention that there are Knitters in the department?!  How exciting is that!  It will be really nice to discuss yarn and not have people look at me like I am nuts.

Christmas is only 3 days away and I can honestly say, I have everything done.  We are thinking about celebrating on Christmas Eve morning as The Husband has to work Christmas Day morning.  Since we have some people coming over for Christmas Day dinner, I thought it might be too hectic to try and squeeze in opening presents as soon as he gets home from work.  Besides, we have to give Santa ample time to drop off presents for Hunter.

Hope everyone has a great Holiday and no worries, I have some knitting updates coming soon, including a new (free) pattern!

