WARNING: This post has very little to do with fiber related activities.

A little over a month ago, I experienced my very first root canal.  YIPEE!  While I was glad to be done with the incessant pain, I was left with an even bigger issue.  Prior to the root canal, I was managing the pain by taking 2 ibuprofens every 4 hours, around the clock.  The pain was so bad that it woke me up when the meds wore off.  I would pop 2 more, fall back asleep and hope the meds would last til morning.  I was taking around 1000mg of ibuprofen per 24 hours for approximately 3 weeks.  No biggie right?  WRONG.  The ibuprofen totally jacked up my stomach.  I was left with hardcore indigestion.  Turns out indigestion is not something you want to mess with, especially bad indigestion.  It was so bad one night that I actually told the husband (in a very panicky state) that I needed to go to the ER.  You see, indigestion takes on many forms.  Your heart races, you sweat, your arms go numb, you are dizzy and you feel like you could vomit at any second.  It’s a pretty common thing for someone to think they are having a heart attack, go to the ER and find out they have (thankfully) really bad indigestion.

After a couple of visits to the doctor, we figured out what was wrong and how I needed to fix this.  The doctor recommended over the counter meds and suggested I do some research on changing my (already somewhat healthy) diet.  Fast forward a month and a half and so far I have lost 12 pounds and counting.  My diet has completely changed and what do you know, I still feel like crap.  While I completely welcome weight loss, this is hardly the way I would want to lose.  I’m still hungry, yet I know I cannot eat for fear of being in pain.  It’s  uncomfortable, super bloated, aching pain.  I have completely cut the following out of my diet:  caffeine, sugar, carbonated drinks, alcohol, processed foods, citrus, tomatoes, fried food, anything spicy, most dairy and red meat.  I have limited bread and I cannot really eat dinner either.  By the end of the day I am so bloated that I don’t really even feel that hungry.  If I do have dinner, it’s very light.  Last night I had sauteed (in a tiny bit of olive oil) spinach and mushrooms with garlic.

This morning while getting dressed I realized that while I have lost weight, it doesn’t really look like I have.  I have this bloated stomach situation going on.  No, I am not pregnant.  That has officially been ruled out!  I put a call into the Doc today and I am anxiously waiting to hear back.  I defiantly think this has gone on way too long and I am ready to move on with my life.  Some nights I am so dizzy that I cannot even knit.  This is serious people.

