Any new Knitter is very hesitant to “block”.  It does sound a little ludicrous at first.  Submerging your beautiful, WOOL finished project that took weeks (or months!) to complete into water is just crazy talk?!  However, even though it is scary, it is TOTALLY worth the risk.  Actually, it’s not a risk at all .  Now that I am in the dyeing scene, I know for a fact that wool actually likes water.  In fact, it LOVES it.  I have been working on this secret project the last couple of weeks and I have to say, I was a little nervous throughout the process.  The project was puffy or “foo foo” as my husband commented.  Yes, he really used those words.

BEFORE BLOCKING:

Before Blocking

AFTER BLOCKING:

After Blocking

Isn’t the difference amazing?  If you are nervous about blocking, here are a couple of tips to keep in mind so you don’t accidentally felt your project.  Because that would SUCK.  I think I would seriously cry if that happened.

  • Make sure the water is room temperature.  Wool likes this water best.  Wool HATES extreme temperatures.
  • Do not agitate the project in the water.  Although you can totally dunk it in.  You want to fully submerge the project.  Once it is soaking leave it alone.
  • Use wool wash!  I really love Eucalan.  Conditions the wool and leaves it feeling ridiculously yummy  soft.
  • Have all of your towels ready to go.  I actually get as much water out of the project as possible before laying it out and shaping it.  A friend suggested to roll the project in a thick towel.  This is a great technique!
  • As soon as your project is as dry as you can get it, immediately lay it out and shape.  This is the magical part. The sweater dries (for the most part) in the shape you put it in.

So, on your next FO, do not forget to block and do not be nervous about it.  As you can see from the photos it is really worth the extra step.

(Details on the FO pictured coming soon!!)

